Skip to content

December Madness

December 9, 2010
tags: ,

I haven’t had a chance to update in a few days because I’ve been swamped at work and the pressure of Christmas shopping is starting to get to me.  For the past few years, I’ve been pretty good at getting all of my shopping done way before Christmas but this year, work has prevented me from getting psyched up for shopping because after my day is done, I’m too spent to muster up some Christmas spirit and happily go shopping amidst the crazy Christmas shoppers.

But my determination has paid off; I’m about 90% done and all of them are wrapped.  It’s much better for my rage if I don’t tackle the mall on a weekend so instead, I took a couple hours in the evening to head out to the mall.  My first few attempts didn’t pan out so well but that was totally my fault:  I didn’t have my usual shopping strategy (read:  specific list of gifts to get for specific people) and instead, I wandered around aimlessly, getting angry after 30 minutes and leaving empty-handed.  I only have a few more people left but at least now, I don’t feel as pressured to get everything done now and I can relax a little.   I even went out and printed a bunch of Christmas cards this year; instead of making them like I usually do, I wanted to print a picture of Kayla and send it out because, well,  let’s just face it-  she’s the most adorable little person ever.  I think I’ll ask her to sign each card (which translates to scribbles with a marker) and I know she’d love to do it since she’s always asking me to color with her.

On the work front, my project is kicking my butt.  Shit, I haven’t been this busy in years; then again, I haven’t worked on a project as large as this in a years.  I’ve been too used to cruising and procrastinating so it’s taken a while for me to adjust to actually having to work and use my brain at the office.   I’m on the computer for so many hours at work that when I get home, I don’t even want to go near my laptop hence, the lack of posts.  The only reason why I’m posting now is because I’m in the office early, I don’t want to start my work and I’m sitting here looking at a pile of Christmas cards I have to address and probably won’t want to do them when I get home so I’m going to do them now.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 9, 2010 7:39 am

    December is always a crazy month. Yesterday was extremely busy for me and it’s because I was preparing my Christmas labels the day before when I should have been doing work. I’m happy to say Christmas cards will all be out by Friday and my shopping should be done by mid week next week.

    With all this madness, I’m still wishing mike and I were going away for the holidays.

    Good luck with your Christmas cards and the rest of your shopping.

    • December 11, 2010 9:10 pm

      I’m almost done and everything is wrapped and waiting to be delivered. I even completed K & M’s gifts in record time. Now I just have to get on the cards; stamps are bought but have to make it out to the mailbox!

  2. December 9, 2010 11:05 pm

    I’m the opposite of you when it comes to Christmas shopping – most years I usually shop at the last minute. This year I started shopping in November – and now I understand what the low stress feeling is like!

    You’re almost done – hang in there!

    • December 11, 2010 9:14 pm

      I just need a couple more gifts to go and then I’m done so by next week, my list should be completed thank God because I seriously can’t stand the malls any longer! Good for you for starting early; the malls are nuts and really, people are mean around this time of year! they’re always fighting for parking, stuff to buy etc… who needs that? we don’t! :s

Leave a Reply

