Skip to content

Is common sense really that uncommon?

December 2, 2010
tags:

So I’m going to go off on a work rant here.  By the way, I don’t dislike my job despite the volume annoyed posts I write on here about my work.  Really, it’s the people in this company who are most frustrating; like the kind of frustrating where you want to bang your head against the wall and cry because people surely can’t be this dumb?

I won’t bore you with project details but what it boils down to is I have to follow company protocol when delivering projects meaning I have to engage “experts” to assess and validate our requirements.  My problem is that these “experts” aren’t experts at all but nothing more than red tape that I have to navigate otherwise I can’t go back to council for more funding.  It’s bullshit if you ask me.  So like a good worker,  I follow procedure but what always ends up happening (like now) is I do all the work and circumvent them in order to get the job done.  To be quite frank, it’s a pretty stupid process that does nothing but halt the progress of the project and irritate me to no end.

The last few days have been frustrating because these people can’t get their shit straight.  I’m up against a deadline and they’re pissing around doing God knows what.  To top off my frustration, I have to repeat myself multiple times (to the same question!!) which is a huge pet peeve of mine.  If I have to repeat myself more than twice, then they obviously don’t get it and I’m wasting my time.  Case in point:  I sent two spreadsheets over with 11 months worth of data, including totals for each line item.   My email noted that total volumes are listed beside each item and to let me know their assessment based on top volumes.   You would think that one would simply sort the data from largest to smallest and then take the top ten, right?   Well, not at my office.   Instead, I get a response asking for the top ten because she’s having trouble figuring it out.  ARE YOU FOR REAL?  Surely she must be shitting me because IT’S RIGHT THERE IN FRONT OF HER.

So at this point, I’m trying to figure out if this is just a trick so she doesn’t have to do anything or she is that stupid that she can’t figure this out.  I know there are people in this company who pretend to not know anything or do everything wrong on purpose just to get out of doing any type of work.  I call these people stupid geniuses because somehow they still manged to stay employed despite their idiocy.

SERENITY NOW!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 4, 2010 4:33 pm

    WTF?!?! surely she was kidding??? what end up happening? did you have to give her a step-by-step process on how to sort the file???

    hph.. stupid geniuses? i never thought of that… what a perfect name to call them. maybe we’re the dumbos after all cuz we bust our asses off!

    • December 4, 2010 8:08 pm

      I know, right? well, I had to walk her through it AGAIN and answered her questions AGAIN. It’s gotten to a point where I’ve just passed that whole stage and am doing it myself. If I had to wait for their stuff, I wouldn’t be able to make my deadline! arrrgghh!!

Leave a Reply

