Skip to content

Geek and Networking Don’t Mix

December 1, 2010
tags: ,

Before I start, just reminding everyone that my Cheeky Monkey and Other Awesome Stuff giveaway is ending in 2 days (Dec 3) so get your entries in now!

/endplug

Last night, me and a few of my girlfriends – one of them friend and fellow blogger, Leesh – went to a networking event.  There were cookies galore, nibblies, crepe-making, trinkets that were showcased, free champagne and lots of women who were swapping cards, introducing themselves  and making their social rounds.  People were all dolled up, walking around, sipping champagne, browsing and chatting.  It was very Carrie Bradshaw-like.  Clearly, I didn’t get the memo regarding dress code because while everyone was decked out in cocktail dresses, heels and fancy accessories, I showed up in jeans and my clunky Mag shoes which might as well been a potato sack and barefeet because that’s what it felt like.

This is my first networking event and now I know why I don’t usually attend:  I obviously don’t know how to dress the part and I also don’t know how to network.  I’m not the type of person to walk up to a complete stranger and and strike up a conversation because I don’t know what to say and is it bad that to some degree, I don’t really care?  Not that I don’t care but putting my name out there or what I do isn’t at the forefront of Things To Do list.   Also,  I think people can sense that about me because no one really approached me either.  The only person I met already knew Leesh and I just happened to be standing beside her so the introductions had to be made (she was very nice by the way).

I’ll be honest and say that I was excited to go but mainly because I was going see my friends, I was going to an After Work Event (we mothers find it pretty exciting to socialize amongst adults; it sort of takes us back to those carefree days when we could gallivant around the city) and I heard that there were booths set up to do a little shopping.  Oh and the swag;  I’m all about the swag.    The night was fun with some disappointments; one of them being I got a $30 parking ticket!  You would think that if you pay the stupid green P meter and press the “Max Time” button, you have paid for the entire duration that your car is there (sort of like those indoor parking garages when you pay a flat fee and your car can sit there for hours).  Well my friends, the parking meters along Mill Street are not like that.  The  “Max Time” means you can only pay up to a certain amount but once your time expires, you have to pay again.   This is misrepresentation if you ask me.  It should not be labeled as  “Max Time”  but “Max Payment”.   Their definition of Max Time is fucked up and is really a ploy for those parking assholes to get money out of you.  They should really label it “Haha sucker eat this” because that was the message I got once I saw the yellow ticket on my windshield.  I am not pleased, not pleased at all.

In other news, I think I’m going to really learn how to use Photoshop.  With the revival of my passion for blogging, I want to be able to create digital awesomeness instead of the hackjobs I usually do with free online apps.  This will include the ability to make business cards, redesign my blog look/feel/layout and create associated images for banners, buttons and other wickedness.   I suppose I could get someone to do it for me but I don’t have the patience to wait for the finished product and besides, if I asked friends to do it, they wouldn’t be my friends anymore because I would be constantly hounding them to get it done.    Now where’s my Photoshop for Dummies?

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 1, 2010 11:11 am

    First of all, you were great company last night but what I enjoyed most about hanging out with you was the dinner we had beforehand. I loved that I got a second chance to get to know you, on a more personal, sober (ha!) level.

    Sorry to hear you got a ticket and had other disappointments. At least you got some nice feather clips (just like my headband).

    I think it’s great that you are going to learn how to use Photoshop. I should learn too! The younger bloggers are all into it and know how to make their blog look snazzy! But once you master Photoshop, can you help me make a button for my blog?

    • December 2, 2010 7:06 am

      for sure! I already know how to do some things in PS but not all the funky stuff like calculating dimensions, layers etc etc. That’s all fancy talk that I have to learn.

      It was mad fun hanging with you on Tues! Dinner fersure just lemme know when. We can head over somewhere downtown after work.

  2. elisse permalink
    December 1, 2010 8:33 pm

    Despite the awkwardness you felt, I hope you’ll keep going to these in-person networking events! Sounds like you and Leesh had a great time! I’m not a big fan of crowds myself, and usually when I meet someone for the first time, I’m fairly quiet. Whether others interprets that as being snobby is their problem 😛

    Not cool about the parking ticket. From what you’ve mentioned, the instructions do sound a bit misleading!

    Photoshop would be handy to learn – I’ve been asking the hubby to help me out with the basics. I’ve been using the Photoshop app on my iPhone, which has been a great way for me to ease into the real thing!

    • December 2, 2010 7:09 am

      I’m like you; quiet to strangers but socially normal in my regular circle. If my hubs were any type of graphic designer, I’d have the most awesome blog ever! Def get on your hubs to teach you. Tap into that resource woman! 😀

Leave a Reply

