Skip to content

Random Tuesday (although it’s Wednesday)

November 24, 2010
Should I make the switch?

My mind has been all over the place these days so what better way to get everything out than through my Random Tuesday series.  Ok yes, I know I’m one day late but I’ve been busy (and lazy) to blog these days.

First up is my dilemma with my blogs.  I have 2 that I maintain and I seem to go back and forth between them.  One is my baby blog which, in the beginning, was dedicated to all things baby; it’s the site that I paid for and registered.  It’s also with a different platform (Typepad) which at first I hated because it wasn’t as intuitive as WordPress but I’ve come to love because of the power of custom CSS.  In turn, it has made me realize the shortcomings of WordPress and its limitations.  With Typepad, there are endless snap-right-in widgets I can integrate and I can include my own designs and functionality.

My problem with this is thee-fold:

1)  my domain name (Dreamy Babies) is very specific and I want a name that encompasses great parenting tips in addition to my own persona that’s indicative of my sheer awesomeness.

2)  I would have to make my readers switch/edit their links to my (new) site which is troublesome on their part.  I for one get irritated with flaky people and this is just what I’m doing:  being flaky by being inconsistent with my blogs.  *punches self in head*

3)  Current readers of my baby site may be surprised that I’m not as refined as I portray myself to be.  Yes I am a seasoned parent but I’m also a down-to-earth and very real person and by that I mean I swear and cuss.  A lot.  My thoughts are warped and I have a dark and twisted sense of humor.  Do I want to deter them from coming to me for support?  absolutely not.  My child is a bright, fun-loving, hilarious little girl who listens (as much as a toddler can) and knows right from wrong.  I am not in the business of raising deviant hellions and I don’t want my readers to think that the way I blog is the way I speak around children.  Hmm what to do, what to do….

On the work front, it’s been busy; too busy for my liking to be honest.  While I enjoy what I do, I enjoy not being busy so I can do other stuff (read:  blog and surf and do non-work things).  I have 2 new team members for my project that got approved for funding.  One would think that one would be happy getting money but when I heard that we got approved, my first thought was fuck.  I thought that because I’m already on a project that is pretty busy but now I have another deadline to meet by the end of the year.  So really, how am I going to find the time to do any type of internety stuff?  I am not pleased about this.  My new team members are really nice but still getting familiar with the company and the project.  My other mini-dilemma is that I have to relinquish control (read:  let others do the work) of some of the key deliverables.  For those who don’t personally know me, I’m a huge Type A personality so letting someone else do the work is hard for me to swallow because I’m of the thought that if I want something done right, I have to do it myself.  My director says this is a good opportunity for me to “broaden my skill set” when it comes to soft skills.  I’ve always been a lone gunman and he knows it but he thinks that this will be a good experience for me in case I ever want to manage people (which I don’t).   I’m not thrilled about people reporting to me because coaching isn’t my thing; my M.O. is all about getting in there, getting the job done right and then getting out.  I work best under pressure and being under pressure leaves no room for mistakes.  I know I sound like a hard-ass and I know you can’t do a project by yourself however, for the things for which I’m responsible, I need to know that it’s getting done right and the only way for me to know that is for me to do it myself.  However, I am trying hard to delegate.  While my first instinct is to take on every activity, I now turn to my co-worker and ask her if she would like to participate.  What I don’t want to do is hover and micromanage (that drives me crazy too) so I have to find a way to keep a close eye on all activities yet give her room to grow and learn.     Perhaps I’m a bit jaded after working with people who cluster-fuck everything therefore I’ve had to adapt and become this crazy control freak.   This will be an interesting project…

What else what else…

ooo, I already have my next giveaway prize lined up.  To give you a little tickle, these are all full-size, brand new products:  shampoo, make-up by Cake, Mary Kay, Vasanti and much much more.  Most of it is makeup and some skin products but I’ll always throw in some luxury skin samples from my personal stash.

Ok that’s it for now.  I’m going to start editing my banner for my combined blog and weigh the pros/cons about merging the two together.  Do you want to read any baby stuff mixed in with my personal rants/vents/drivel?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 24, 2010 9:40 pm

    YES i want to see your baby stuff with your personal rants! it’ll show all sides of you and that’s what a bog should do. i’ll be honest, i may not comment as much on the baby stuff but that’s because i’m without baby. haha.

    i know you personally and i understand why you don’t want to manage people and your reasons stated make lots of sense. however, i’m sure once you find that stellar employee that’s just as awesome as you… i’m sure you’ll trust that person as much as you trust yourself to get sh!t done!

    and yes, you have a potty, trucker mouth! and so do i! it’s one of the reasons why you and i get along so well! 🙂

    • November 25, 2010 9:26 am

      oh maur, I love you!! are you coming to the cookie exchange on nov 30?

      • Maureen permalink
        November 26, 2010 5:56 am

        Normally I would go, but with the holidays coming up, I don’t want to stuff myself with cookies before. I know there’s tix without the eating cookie option, but let’s be honest… There’s no way I can be surrounded by cookies and not want to eat them all! LOL!

        P.S.
        I love you too Kat!

Leave a Reply

