Skip to content

The Snob In Me

November 17, 2010
tags: ,

I’ll openly admit that I’m a bit of a snob when it comes to things I like such as makeup, face creams and designer bags.  By snob, I mean I will rarely look at anything else other than my trusted brands and those that aren’t part of the circle of trusted brands are sub-par (sorry but true).

The skin on my face has never touched moisturizers, serums or toners sold in drug-stores.  Mostly out of fear of irritation and redness, I stick to high-end brands that have proven to work for my skin type and calms my overly-sensitive skin.  I also truly believe that high-end creams are more potent and contain better ingredients than their drug-store counterparts.  The brands that are in my circle of trust are La Mer, Jo Malone, Laura Mercier, Darphin and Bobbi Brown.

Last week, I ran out of eye cream and I haven’t had time to run out to Holts to replace it so I’ve been on the hunt for a comparable one.  I came across a brand that I’d heard about, seen at some events but never tried and their creams smelled pretty good, had pretty good texture but I was unsure of its composition. The fact that it smelled perfumey sort of turned me off because perfumes are a sensitive skin’s worst enemy however, I wanted to have an open mind and I continued to browse and sniff at their products with some hope that I might find an eye cream alternative.

As I perused their products, the sales person comes up to me and starts her schpiel.  Of course, I listen out of curiosity yet with a hint of snobbiness because I know that whatever she says can’t compete with the brand that I use  but I let her do her thing because I’m polite.  She was going on about how wonderful said cream is and that it “rivals La Mer, is better in quality and …. “.  I trailed off at the “and” part because I stopped listening to her after she said that.  Ok for real, if you’re going to compare your product to something else, at least pick something that’s not top of the line and isn’t quadruple the price of your product.  That’s like saying “oh,  I built my database using Microsoft Access but it totally rivals the optimization and superiority of Oracle”.   For the non-geeks:  Oracle is the dominate mother of all databases.  Yeah, ok.  Had she picked something like Clinque or even Estee Lauder (still, both good brands), that would have been more plausible but La Mer, really?  Does she not know that La Mer is marketed as The Most Coveted Moisturizer in the World?.  I suppose she thought that I wouldn’t know anything about La Mer because it’s so freaking expensive that no one in their right mind would actually spend that kind of money on a moisturizer but I know my creams, La Mer being one of them.  It’s not so much that she dissed my cream (well, a little) but the fact that what she said is a bold-faced lie so as soon as she said that, she immediately lost a customer.  I put whatever I had in my hand back on the display and left thinking:  oh honey, you will never see La Mer at one of these events because the products speak for itself.  You will never hear La Mer comparing itself to any other product because it’s so badass it doesn’t have to.  I gotta say, I never see customers standing around the La Mer counter asking about the creams or trying to get more information because people know about the superiority of their moisturizers.  Customers go there, hand over their credit card and leave.  In fact, I rarely see anyone standing behind the counter trying to sell the product because the product sells itself.

As you can tell, I’m a very loyal customer.  Once I find a product or service that has done me right, I will promote and advocate that product or service to anyone who will listen.  Even if products stop working for me or I’ve jumped ship, I will always give great reviews because I’ve been a fan in the past.  I will not support products that are misleading and even if their sales people are misinformed but the product is pretty good, the fact that they are providing wrong information tells me that the company doesn’t care to provide proper training to their employees.  If you can’t be bothered to do that, then I can’t be bothered to give the my money or my word-of-mouth marketing.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 23, 2010 10:19 pm

    I admit to being a product snob too, especially when it comes to my facial products. I have been a LONG LONG time user of Shiseido products, and it’s been hard for me to try other moisturizers. Now that I think of it, I have only ever used Shiseido moisturizers. When I found out that NARS and Shiseido come from the same company, I was so happy, because I love the NARS makeup line!!!

    There’s a reason why you call a brand a “trusted” one – the quality of the product is evident, especially when it comes to skin care. I agree with you that in cases like these, you need to be a snob!

    • November 24, 2010 7:47 am

      Hi Elisse, welcome! thanks for dropping by.

      I’m glad I’m not the only snob out there. BTW, last night I tried my mom’s eye cream by Chanel; I swear it was like slathering on liquid diamonds it was that luxurious.

Leave a Reply

