Skip to content

The Blogosphere

November 14, 2010

Sometimes I surprise myself with all the blogging and blog reading I do.  For someone who complains about not having much time to do anything, I always find time to write and read.

In the past few days, I’ve found some really good blogs – mostly through friends – and have subscribed to their daily drivel.  I’ll admit that I’m a bit of a snob insofar that I judge blogs the exact same way as I judge books:  by the cover – or in a blog’s case – at first glance.  Here’s my test:  I will always skim the first 5 sentences and if it doesn’t captivate me, then I won’t continue reading and I will move along.  Similar to when I decide to buy a book (if it makes the cut by alluring me with its cover) I will flip to a random page and begin reading.  If I am not absorbed within the first 5-7 sentences, it goes back on the shelf and the author doesn’t get my money.

So by virtue of that, one would think that my blog is all snazzy, witty and remarkable, right?  Actually, my screening process screams hypocrisy because my site features the very things that  often turn me away:  boring white background (or no background) and nothing out of the ordinary when it comes to visual, eye-catching effects.  I just hope that my drivel is witty and interesting enough to keep readers coming back for more.  That, and I like to include pictures in my posts.  Some of them are funny like the one above.  So if you have found me in your follower list, then pat yourself on the back because you made the cut.

The amazing thing about social media and the internet is you don’t actually have to meet a person to know their thoughts, who they are and what they’ve been up to – blogs and other social media does it for us.   My Google Reader, Facebook and Twitter accounts have allowed me to remain in contact with people I haven’t actually spoken to in real life in a long time.  For example, I haven’t seen Steph in a long time.  Like, in years; maybe since the days when she still lived in Markham and Milano was our bar of choice.  But through her tweets and her blog, I know that she’s going to India for Christmas (lucky bitch), got a new job and loves David’s Tea.  We continue to exchange conversations through blog comments and tweets.   Similarly, she’s watched Kayla grow through my (picture) posts, tweets and Facebook yet she’s never met her.  Strange, huh?

While social media is pretty awesome, it’s also a detriment to social bonding.  When was the last time you got a phone call from a friend and you chatted about the goings-on in her life?   Social media doesn’t really allow for that because it’s likely that your friend wrote about her most recent event on her site or via Twitter and you’ve already read about it.   When was the last time you received snail mail?  Other than Christmas or weddings, the only thing I get in the mail are bills and flyers.  Email takes precedent because it’s faster and more efficient.  Evite has practically eliminated the need to send out invitations.  Who buys stamps these days?  Everything can be done online and I don’t remember the last time I actually mailed a bill payment.  Of course, I’m talking about the younger generation; my parents’ generation still goes to the bank and still mails stuff. Phone calls are still the norm although some technological adapters are getting the hang of email, the internet and even online shopping.  To those folks who are over 50 and using the computer on a regular basis, props to you.  My mom still has trouble working the PVR in our house and satellite TV confuses her.

Anyway, I’m looking forward to reading new blogs from people I don’t know and maybe develop blogging friendships.  Don’t be surprised if your stats show me visiting your site multiple times; that’s just me lurking your blog list for new blogs to read.  That, and to drop by and leave comments.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 14, 2010 9:16 am

    I’m like Steph too. I’ve watched Kayla grow up but I’ve never met her.

    Hey-I still buy stamps. I’ve found that even though I’ve met lots of bloggers who adore social media, they all love snail mail. I’ve sent out numerous packages and also received some.

    I’m glad to be part of a blogging community and i’ve met some wonderful ppl by randomly commenting on their blogs or joining series like Fill in the Blank Fridays. Anyway, I’m glad you are lurking around other blogs! It’s fun!

    • November 17, 2010 3:03 pm

      I love snail mail too but no one likes sending out snail mail these days boohoo. That’s why I love the holidays because it’s the only time I get cards! 🙂

  2. November 14, 2010 10:29 pm

    What a nice way to wake up this morning to see that you wrote almost an entire paragraph about me! hee!

    While most would think that it’s pretty shameful that we’ve kept in touch mainly through social media these days, I consider myself very fortunate to have this new connection with you and to see Kayla grow into a lively, happy and healthy young girl with a huge personality that shines, even online.

    I love this community too. I’ve “met” lots of other bloggers and made tons of great connections, and I’m glad to see you’re having fun making new friends through this.

    And OMG the Milano mention. Last night RTS had his birthday celebration. It was an old-person type house party. How boring, and such a far cry from our long (fun) nights at Milano.

    • November 17, 2010 3:04 pm

      haha I’m sure he’d love to know that you thought his party was old and boring! sadly, that’s how we 30-somethings roll these days 😦

Leave a Reply

