Skip to content

Morning routine

November 11, 2010
tags: ,

I’ve come to realize that I’m a very routine-oriented person; it just helps me get my day off to a good start which is probably the reason why I’m such a stickler for Kayla’s routine.  When things don’t go as they should, I get somewhat irritated and things just feel a little off.

I come into the office early (like, 6:30am early!) 3 days a week.  I do this because I hate traffic.  I sometimes battle traffic when I leave and I don’t think my road rage could handle traffic two times per day.  I’ve realized that as I’ve gotten older, my tolerance for stupid shit and traffic has decreased dramatically.  Like, to zero.  It is not uncommon for traffic to totally ruin my day and just gets me off on the wrong foot.  Then I come into the office angry, I take it out on my projects and I do a lot of yelling and demanding.  Ok, that’s not really true.  Well, maybe just a little.  But life is much more pleasant when I start the day off right.

But anyway, this post isn’t about work.

When I get in, there’s a routine that I fall into:  my day has to start off with a cup of hot tea.  And not the fancy tea – our office isn’t that great – but just plain old regular orange pekoe tea.  We have a huge variation of coffee but I don’t drink coffee and the tea selection is limited.  Why don’t I bring in my own tea?  because that requires me to lug it in and I’m extremely lazy when it comes to doing pretty much anything however, I did pass by David’s Tea Shop over the weekend and with all the props that Leesh and Steph give to David’s Tea, I’m seriously thinking about amping up my tea selection.

When I get to the office, my laptop is already on because I can’t be bothered to shut it down and lock it up.  Most people will get their tea/coffee as their laptop is booting up but I’ve discovered an efficient way to start my day:  just leave it open and on at my desk.  Every day when I leave for the day, I simply stand up, grab my stuff and go.  Most of the time, I don’t even bother to lock access; that eventually kicks in after X minutes.  I get all sorts of flack about security blahblahblah but seriously, if someone really needs to  steal my stuff, then their punishment is a shitty laptop that under-performs and will only give them more grief and anger than anything else.  My company refuses to upgrade us to real, high-performing machines but would rather give us crappy computers equivalent to a Vic20 while continuing to demand output that only a quick computer can provide.   Hell, I would even take a mediocre machine that doesn’t take me 5 minutes to shut down.  Let me put this into perspective:  I have an IBM T61 Thinkpad.  The lowest version of the T-Series right now is  T410.  Going by simple math, T410 – T61 = 349 versions of which I’m behind.  Haha I know that isn’t how they do it but that just goes to show you how obsolete my machine is compared to what’s out now.  Ok, I’m finished with my pity party.  So having said that, I  always pray every day that someone steals my machine because I hate it and it sucks so bad.  I would bring in my MacBook but corporate security won’t put it on the network because it’s not a company-imaged machine.  But whatever.

Wow, this post is quickly becoming a gripe about work.

So yes, I get my tea and then I take the rest of the morning to surf, blog and read blogs while eating my breakfast.  I “officially” don’t start my day until 9am when everyone else gets in however, I charge my time from when I get in.  Seems unfair but I’ll justify this by saying that any overtime I work – unless it’s serious overtime over 4 hours – I don’t charge to the company so I think it all balances out.   One thing that I love doing aside from reading blogs and writing  is surfing parenting forums.  I’m really active on this one site because I know what it’s like to be stumbling through parenthood and it’s nice to know that there are thousands of women who are in the same boat as you.  I wish I found this site when Kayla was born because it would have really helped me during what I like to call the “what the fuck” months.  Those are the months that you stumble around thinking “what the fuck?”  as you try and figure out what your baby needs, wants, is crying for.    I haven’t been blogging much lately because work is really busy and I woke up today determined to blog during breakfast and tea.

But this morning sort of went out the window.  First, Kayla woke up 1hr earlier than normal.  I bet it’s her damn molars – again.  Those fucking molars are really throwing her schedule in for a loop and because I’m a stickler with schedules and routines, this is so not cool in my books.  Then I panicked because I couldn’t find my wedding rings.  It’s one thing to be tired and trying to get ready for work and another to be all panicky and anxious because you potentially lost thousands of dollars worth of jewelery.  Needless to say, my mind was racing on my way to work as I tried to rack my brain trying to remember where the hell I put them.  Strangely enough, I found them in  my wallet!  I guess I took them off last night and absentmindedly stuffed them into my change purse as I was emptying out my pockets.

So right now, I’m trying to make things right and I have my tea and breakfast with me (ahhh…serenity now).  It’s still early enough for me to chill a little before the madness begins.   I guess everyone’s been busy because I haven’t seen much on Google Reader and I check it about twice a day.  I’m really trying to get into the habit of  leaving comments on friends’ blogs because it’s always nice to get comments and interaction on the work and effort you’ve put into making your post funny and witty and interesting.  I’m also thinking about subscribing to some other blogs so if you can recommend any blogs that are funny, interesting and real, please let me know!

Have a great day!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 11, 2010 9:00 am

    I’m a huge stickler for routine too – I believe it makes me a more efficient person. Even if something slight throws that routine off just a little bit, I get all frazzled and harried.

    David’s Tea is the best! Go soon and bring some of that tea home. Serenity and flavorful, warm beverages will be yours as soon as you do. I think that I’ll be dropping into one of their stores tonight to check out their new Winter Collection. Yum!

  2. November 11, 2010 9:24 am

    I think I will! there’s a David’s Tea that just opened up at town center so I’ll go there on Sunday. I hope you can try the teas in the store before buying?

  3. November 11, 2010 12:38 pm

    They always feature 2 teas of the day at the store, and will always greet you with a sample of at least one. You can smell the teas, and if you want to take a cup of tea to go to try rather than committing to buying a packet/tin, it’s $2.50 a cup no matter what tea you have.

    Let us know what you think and what you end up getting!

  4. November 11, 2010 3:36 pm

    I need routine in my life. I walk the same way to work every morning and the same way back to Union Station. I know exact when I should leave my house to catch the bus. I am crazy.

    I went to David’s Tea to pick up more Pumpkin Chai. I tried Baked Apple from the Winter Collection and I like it. Next time I go to David’s, I am definitely going to pick up the Winter Collection (I just want to finish the Fall one first).

    • November 12, 2010 9:44 am

      I’m the same way. I get antsy if my routine gets thrown off.

Leave a Reply

