Skip to content

The Quirk in You

November 2, 2010
tags: ,

I was inspired by Leesh to write this post and enlighten you about my quirks.  We all have them but does your husband/boyfriend/fiancee know them too?  Do they find them equally hilarious as you?

I asked hubs to list out what he thinks are my quirks.  I nearly drove off the road laughing as I was reading them from my Blackberry:

  • leaving used tissues or wrappers in the handle of the passenger car door. I have every intention of throwing them in the garbage but I always forget.  Seriously, I really don’t know why I do this and I will only throw them away when they start spilling over the ledge and falling on the floor.  Usually hubs will get to it first though, and he never forgets to remind me.
  • chewing half a stick of gum for 3 minutes and then leaving it in the wrapper in the drink holder. I hate the feeling of rubbery gum and that’s exactly what it feels like after 3 minutes.  If my mouth feels like a swamp, I chew for the least amount of time to give me minty fresh breath, then it get rid of it.  It’s usually when I’m driving so the closet receptacle to put it in is the drink holder.  Of course, my lack of memory serves me well every time and I end up forgetting to throw them away.
  • taking the cordless phone off the charger all the time. I am convinced that over-charging a battery only degrades the life of your battery. If I’m going to spend money on a cordless phone which I want to be able to use for more than a 20 minute conversation without the battery dying on me, then I think that you shouldn’t keep the phone on the cradle.
  • shutting down our torrent software before we go to bed. Although hubs has reconfigured the software to cap the uploads, I’m convinced that uploads continue to happen.  The green lights on our wireless router continue to blink with activity even though he’s assured me that’s not the case.  With most data plans capping data transmissions at a certain amount, we sometimes get killed with fees for uploads/downloads and it irritates me when we get a bill with extra charges because I know that we could have saved that money if hubs was more diligent with it!
  • not picking up things off the landing on the way up/down. Really, I don’t see anything on the landing so I have no idea where he’s getting this from
  • leaving hair monsters on the shower wall. Every time during my shower, I run my fingers through my hair to get any hairs that could fall out.  I don’t want to clog the drain/pipes so I stick loose hairs onto the wall.  Again, bad memory = forgetting to throw them into the garbage and then I hear hubs as he gets into the shower: “KAT!! YOU FORGOT YOUR HAIR!!”.   I think this is one of my most annoying quirks because hubs thinks it’s gross meanwhile I think it’s hilarious.
  • not squeeging the shower glass. After my shower, I get cold fast.  I stay in the shower stall to dry myself and then get out as fast as I can which leaves me no time to squeegee the glass.  I also hate the feeling of water dripping onto my skin after I’ve toweled off which is why I tend to let that responsibility fall on hubs.  To my defense, I do squeegee about 50% of the time.
  • never using the bread plastic closer thingy. I just find this an extra step of which I’m too lazy to do.  Half the time, I can’t find it so I just twist the bag into a knot.  What’s the big deal?

What are some of your quirks?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. November 2, 2010 6:53 pm

    I am the same way about leaving tissues in the passenger side door. I will be posting up my quirks later this week.

  2. Steph S C-O permalink
    November 3, 2010 10:44 am

    Lol!!! I leave hair monsters in the shower too!!! Jay actually calls it that!!! At least the drain isn’t clogged!!!

    • November 4, 2010 6:58 am

      haha! i don’t know what it is but guys clear their nose in the shower. YUCK. I would much rather see hair stuck to a wall than a gross booger on the floor ewwwww!! i should write down some if HIS quirks! how’s the little one? how’s mommyhood?

      • Steph S C-O permalink
        November 4, 2010 9:23 am

        Haha! Yeah, boogers in the shower are infinitely much more disgusting!!! Mommyhood is good! Hannah makes it easy because (like her dad) she loves to eat and sleep! Hopefully that won’t change!

  3. November 13, 2010 10:22 am

    LMAO! I don’t know how I missed this post but I’m so glad I caught this.

    I’m still laughing at the whole guys clearing their noses in the shower. And here I was thinking that it was only MY guy who did that. I’m glad to hear that it’s a gender-wide phenomenon.

    I also leave tissues in the car door, though not in that handle receptacle, but the bigger one at the bottom of the door which fits a million more used tissues! Another quirk I have that drives him crazy is my perpetual need to shut off the ceiling lights in our house whenever they’re on in favour of table lamps. Hey – I think that the overhead lights cost more money on our electricity bill. Not only that, but they are horrible because they cast really ugly shadows everywhere, making the room look horrible ugly and don’t provide the nice ambient warmth and glow that a nice table or floor lamp brings to a room. So there!

    • November 16, 2010 4:22 pm

      ha! I have a habit of stuffing random garbage in the same place in the car too!

Leave a Reply

