Skip to content

Photo Fridays: Summer’s End 2003

October 29, 2010

In September 2003 (I’m pretty sure this is the date), I went to my last hardcore party (read: rave):  Summer’s End Labor of Love held at the Guvernment night club.  I censored this picture to protect my friends who probably don’t want to be posted on this site.  Not that we are afraid of admitting our raving past and all the likes that come with it, but they don’t know that I’m posting this pic.

To be honest, I can’t remember much from this party.  I have no idea who was spinning which is unlike me because I mostly went for the music so this means that either I was only going because I had to (doubtful) or the main goal was to just wanted to get fucked because it was my last party and what better way to go out with a bang than to get utterly shitfaced?

what I do remember is this:

  • MB just came back from her honeymoon in Hawaii and I was trying to get details amidst the blaring music.  Standing in front of blasting speakers isn’t the best place to hold a conversation
  • some boys came from Vancity to party and it was the first time most of us met them – they are way cool
  • I believe it was ML’s last party too.  He was more fucked than I was that night and kept shouting in my face: I’M SO FUCKED!
  • MB and I ended up getting lost in the club and spent hours underneath some table as people continued to walk up and sit around or order drinks.  The foot-rest was so deep under the table that we had plenty of room to sit unbeknownst to the patrons ordering drinks above us.  We had our shits and giggles by grabbing their feet to which they jumped back and hollered something obscene.   I have no idea how long we were under there but when we finally made our way back to the main room, people were asking:  where the hell were you guys?  we thought you went home!!  I thought we were gone for 30 minutes but we were actually gone for about 3 hours.  Oops

I have more pictures of this night but if you were a raver, you know that pictures taken after 1am are not pictures that you want to share.  It’s actually a funny pictorial of our decline in mental capacity thanks to certain mood enhancers.  You start out fresh-faced similar to the picture above and as you get later into the night, it’s very likely that your eyes are pointing in different directions and you have that skeezed out look about you (aka rush face).

Yeah, let’s leave those in the vault.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Maureen permalink
    October 31, 2010 10:50 pm

    ah yes, i remember those days! holy FUN! haha, even though you censored your friends, i know who’s under the happy faces! hehe.

  2. November 1, 2010 8:23 pm

    LOL! You can totally tell who’s on my left 😀

  3. November 2, 2010 10:16 pm

    I should scan of the photos that I have. All you veterans looks normal and I am the one with the rush face in my photos.

    I remember the few parties I went with you – Stereo, Hershey and I am sure there are a couple more but I just don’t remember. You were good to me and always looked out for me. I was smothered with hand massages from you, Mr.E and Ness.

    • November 3, 2010 6:56 am

      HAHA! i have some pics of you but didn’t think you wanted me to post them….? 😉

      • November 3, 2010 12:09 pm

        No I would definitely not want you to post them but I would love for you to share them with me by email.

      • November 4, 2010 6:59 am

        LOL ok. i just need to get my scanner working. since we changed computers, i can’t find the driver for it so my mac doesn’t recognize. will keep you posted!

Leave a Reply

