Skip to content

I’m so clever

October 26, 2010
tags: ,

Dilbert describes corporate Canada fairly accurately

I have to say, I’m pretty tickled with myself.  I just created my own banner image using online photo editing software because I am too cheap to buy Photoshop and too lazy to search for a cracked version.  By the way, I am not a digital genius by any stretch; ask me to build a process from scratch or deliver a big project, I’m your girl.  Ask me to digitally manipulate/create images or banners, this is the hack job you will get.  I started tackling this earlier this afternoon at work but sort of got caught by my boss.  I’m usually on the up and up when it comes to making sure that I look busy during the times when I’m not but I was so engrossed with cropping and moving pictures that he snuck up on me and I didn’t have time to recover (read:  put something work-like on screen).  He’s cool though; I just don’t like people knowing that I sometimes do non work-related things like blogging during office hours.

The thing is, I do almost all of my work in the morning when most of the office is still at home sleeping.  This is because I usually get into work around 6:30am and no one is around demanding shit from me.  The rest of the day involves putting out fires, fixing production issues or making sure that people are doing what they’re supposed to be doing.  If production efforts are ok and everyone is working on their tasks, then there’s not much for me to do except get status updates.  I know, my work makes me sad too.  So having said all that, this  leaves me some free time to update my websites and do other things that are not really work related.

But I have one little thing on my mind:  my boss’s girlfriend friended me on Facebook.  It sort of surprised me because I don’t really know her.  We’ve never had a real conversation, she doesn’t sit with the team during lunch and we only say hello/good-bye in passing.  I haven’t accepted her request because I’m not sure if that’s too close to the disaster zone.  You see, I tend to automatically send any blog updates to Facebook and Twitter; most of which have already been written but scheduled to be posted on a daily basis so one would think that all I do during office hours is update my websites.  Do I accept her request and willingly allow a potential mole into my personal life that is Facebook?  Not that she would rat me out (I don’t think she would)  but my boss isn’t on Facebook however, he could ask her to log in and peruse her friend list; allowing him seeing my wall and therefore, my activities. While he knows I work hard and I’ve proven my capabilities over the years, the evidence on Facebook could be enough to plant seeds of doubt in his mind which would not be a good thing.  My boss is super cool and although we’re very good friends, I would never overstep the boundaries between business and personal.

So, I will continue to ponder this request until I figure out what to do.  What would you do?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. October 26, 2010 10:22 pm

    That’s a pretty snazzy new header you’ve got there.

    What would I do in that Facebook situation? I would ignore the friend request and probably tell her that I keep Facebook a personal thing. I’m weirded out by having work people on Facebook, especially my superiors. In fact, no one at work knew that I’m on Twitter or that I blog – there were some people there that were like forensic Googlers and I didn’t need any of my activities in social media to come back and bite me in the ass. But that’s just me and my privacy issues.

    • October 27, 2010 7:38 am

      I’m with you on avoiding business with personal so I think I’m just going to leave it as “pending”. I doubt she’ll ask me about it (here’s hoping she doesn’t!).

  2. October 26, 2010 10:23 pm

    oh, and by the way – welcome back!

    • October 27, 2010 7:39 am

      thanks! it’s good to be back 🙂 been too long. when do you start your new job?

  3. October 28, 2010 9:26 pm

    Welcome back! I am glad you have decided to post on this blog again. I have missed it.

    I am not on facebook but if I was, I wouldn’t want co-workers knowing what I did outside of work. I didn’t want them to know that I blog and tweet but someone outed me.

    • October 29, 2010 9:17 am

      it’s good to be back! i have so much to write about! her request is still pending. I’m going to leave it that way! 😀

Leave a Reply

