Skip to content

Driving Skills

October 25, 2010

Last night, hubs and I had a very interesting (and funny) conversation about driving.  We were at the mall walking from the parking lot and there were idiot drivers everywhere.  I don’t know what it is about Scarborough / Markham asshole drivers.  The fact that most of these idiot drivers were all women who had trouble parking and oh, I don’t know, sitting behind the wheel just makes me embarrassed to be of the female persuasion because it’s drivers like that that give me us a bad rap.   I think hubs is a great driver – he is a living GPS, knows how to drive in any kind of weather and in general, is a great defensive driver.  So out of curiosity, I asked him to rate his driving skills on a scale of 1 to 10 – he said about 8.5 and I have to agree.  In comparison, I asked him to rate my driving skills and he said 7.5 which I sort of have to agree given my propensity to misjudge certain turns and ‘rub up’ against curbs which in my defense, other cars are usually too close to me causing me to move out of the way and therefore, impair my judgment.  And that other median curb thing had no business being there but whatever.

So here’s my bad habit:  I tend to drive in the HOV lane on the days that I drive Kayla to daycare.  Usually, I leave way earlier (like, when it’s dark and the moon is still out earlier) so I don’t have to deal with traffic but on the days that I drive Kayla, I am caught in the middle of rush hour and I hate traffic.  I have a real issue with road rage and if you are driving slower than 70km/hr then you are automatically lumped into the Asshole Driver category.  Is it the right thing to do?  no, and I know that.  Yes, I know it’s illegal; yes, I know I shouldn’t do that and yes, I know that lane is reserved for 2 or more people, motorcycles and buses but it’s oh.so.tempting to just hop over when it’s empty and there are 2343209567987347 cars in front of me.  What irks me the most are not only the bad drivers in the regular lanes but bad drivers in the HOV lane too.  Seriously folks, if you have the nerve to do something illegal, do it right and by doing it right, I mean drive fast and get the hell outta my way.   If I have the balls to willingly break the law and drive in that lane, then I will drive as fast as I can to get to where I’m going.  You see, I have a strange theory whenever I commit a moving infraction:  if I’m doing something I shouldn’t be doing (driving in the HOV lane) knowing that there could be a ticket with my name on it, then I will drive fast because the faster I get to where I am going, the less time I will be on the road which means the less time the cops will have to catch me.  Makes sense, right?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. karm permalink
    November 29, 2010 2:01 am

    7.5?!?!!? you’ve gotta be kidding me.

    either:

    1) he didn’t want to hurt your feelings, or
    2) he misplaced the decimal point, or
    3) he’s really bad at math, or
    4) he used the markham chinese girl scale

    • November 29, 2010 4:28 pm

      Karm! glad to see you on here. My answer to all of your comments: SUCK IT. For #4, well played 🙂

Leave a Reply

