Skip to content

A few of my favorite things

May 9, 2010
tags:

I have totally dropped the ball with this blog.  I’ve been so busy with my baby site work that I just haven’t had time to update.  I had a bunch of fun series going on but sadly, I can hardly find extra time in the day.  I have made a promise to myself that I will minimize, if not eliminate, the time I spend on the computer when I get home.

Many of my blogger pals have done a cool little post about their faviorite things so I figured I’d post too since I haven’t had a chance to think of anything witty to write about that’s not baby-related.  Not that I’m obsessed with babies or that’s all I can talk about but in order for traffic to keep coming back to my baby site, I have to keep the content fresh and updated.  Enough about that.  Let’s get on with the fun stuff.

1. Favorite hobby?

It has taken over my life.  I have had a few blogs since 2002 but never have I been so obsessed.  I’m constantly thinking of things to write about, products to review and information to share.  Most of my spare time (after my family of course) goes towards research about baby stuff so I can write about the information I’ve come across in hopes that other parents will find it useful.

2.  Favorite tv show?To all you haters:  I don’t care what you say about these shows so you can suck it.  They are my guilty pleasure; I like to lie around watching this trash and will not apologize or be embarassed by it.  24, 90210 and Chuck are definintely in the top 5.  Glee was up there but this season is sucking ass so it didn’t make the cut.  I can’t decide which of these 2 I like better as they’re both #1 on my list.  When Thursday rolls around, I immediately think about Grey’s and Private Practice and can’t wait to get home.  Until everyone on this show dies, I will be a fan 4F4.

3. Favorite restaurant food?

YUM.  I just had lunch and my mouth is watering just looking at this picture.  When I’m at Korean bbq restaurant and the meat arrives at my table, you will not hear a word from me because I am concentrating on cooking the kalbi just right.

4.  Favorite thing to shop for?

I am obviously not doing a good job narrowing down my favorite things to do however, I can spend hours at both Sephora shopping for makeup and a book store.  I am always a sucker when I go into these stores – the pretty packaging, vibrant colors and an endless supply of testers gets me every time.  In the book stores, the smell of pressed pages, the cracking of never-been opened books and the wonderous tales they hide makes me feel like a kid in a candy store.  I don’t care where I am in a book store – I will plop myself down wherever I am and read a few pages.  I have actually finished a novel once sitting on the floor of Chapters

5.  Favorite animal?

You did not specify that it had to be an actual animal so I chose Elmo.  Since my monkey is totally obsessed with Elmo, I have gotten to know him as well and let me tell you that Sesame Street was brilliant in creating characters that aim to dispel fears about monsters that are common to kids.  Sesame Street shows kids that monsters aren’t scary but are cute, cuddly creatures who love to draw, sing and do normal human things and if Sesame Street says so, then it must be true.

6. Favorite song?

Gold, guns, girls by Metric.  These guys are awesome.  I have this song on repeat in my car.

7. Favorite word?

Temperament (it’s not really; that was the first word that popped into my head)

8. Recent favorite youtube video?

Don’t have one. I rarely go on YouTube unless someone sends me a link to watch something.

9. Favorite movie?


If you have no idea what movie this is from, I am extremely disappointed in you.  It’s DIE HARD motherfucker!  I love the Die Hard Series – all of them.  I can watch them over and over again (and I do) and I know most of the lines too.  John McLean can do no wrong.  Aliens is a very close second but only the 2nd one was awesome and the rest were shit so Die Hard took the cake.

10. Favorite childhood memory

Playing V with my cousins.  We were totally obsessed with this show and knew every single line.  My cousin Brian was Donovan (and Kyle – yes, he had dual characters), Fae was Elizabeth the Star Child, Lilly was Julie, I was Lydia and Janet or my sister would be Diana (they always fought to be Diana).  We would play in their basement and even outside.  We had fake guns, we ate gummy bears for hamsters/rats and the entire basement was the Mother Ship.  Then we would set up our battles with large boxes and hide behind them; throwing tennis balls as our ‘fire power’ to defeat the Resistance.  Every time I get together with my cousins and we talk about this, we laugh like loons.

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 27, 2010 10:10 pm

    I saw the video for Gold, Guns, Girls by Metric. I can see why you like it. When I was watching it, I was trying to remember who liked the song and then I just read your blog and realized…it was you!

    We like a lot of the same shows. Too bad that everything is done. Have you ever tried to watch Friday Night Lights? It’s on the 4th season on NBC on Friday nights but you should watch it from the beginning. It’s awesome. Even Marie likes it. Check it out if you have nothing to watch this summer.

Leave a Reply

