Skip to content

Random Tuesday (although it’s Wednesday)

March 17, 2010

I have kind of forgotten about this blog only because I’ve been trying to make the most out of my last days as a stay-at-home-mom because tomorrow I go back to work.  Yep, that’s right – after nearly 2 yrs of being out of the workforce, I am returning once again.  Am I looking forward to it?  no.  Why?  because after all this time, I’m FINALLY starting to feel normal again, like myself again and now I have to go back to work.  Boo-urns.

Kayla is now in full-time daycare and started on Monday.  I wanted to give her about a week to adjust because I was so worried about her napping there.  You see, Kayla naps in very specific conditions – in her crib, darkened room, noise machine.  At daycare, they just close the blinds, play some kind of sleepy CD and they lay on cots on the floor.  Beside other kids.  I guess it’s true when they say that the parents’ fear is worse than reality because I was certain that Kayla wouldn’t sleep.  She didn’t do too bad; she cried a bit and it took her a while to settle but she did sleep.  Marian (her care-giver) is very patient and gentle and lay beside Kayla to comfort her until she slept.  My other worry was that she was going to keep the other kids up and she tried to play with Roland as he lay passed out beside her and she ticked and poked him in the head but Roland can sleep through anything.  She’s doing well – I thought that maybe she’d freak out and cry once she knew what was going on but so far, so good.  As long as toys and kids are around, Kayla’s good to go.

Yesterday I got a much-needed massage.  I haven’t gotten one in over a year – I was too scared to get one while I was pregnant and I was too fucked up last year to go out at all.  But yesterday’s massage made up for  it – I was kneaded into jello and the 80mins felt like 2hrs.  Oh, here’s a tip to remember:  don’t eat a burger and fries before your massage.  If you’re anything like me, massages relax everything in your body – including your digestive system – so if you don’t want to spend the last 20-30mins fighting the urge to fart, I suggest you take my advice.  Do you know how uncomfortable it is to tense your ass so that your sphincter doesn’t open up and release the fumes of hell in your masseuse’s face?  And it didn’t help that he mistook my clenched cheeks as tension and repeatedly asked me to relax so he can get the knots out.  Little did he know I was doing this to save his life. And when I left the spa, I stepped out into the wonderful sunny weather – all was good with the world.  Then I go pick up Kayla and I found out she had a good nap – even better.  I was in such a good mood that I didn’t mind dishing out $1600 for servicing my car.  Yes, it was one of those huge overhauls they do every 4yrs and replace this fluid and that fluid and basically go through your entire car.

Today, is my last day of ME time.  I seriously can’t believe I start work tomorrow.  So today is dedicated to doing whatever I want.  I am going to go to the toy warehouse sale, vaughn mills and then try and schedule a pedicure appointment because my feet are in desperate need of one.  Then I will come home and blog and see how I can get my baby site up and running.  Oh, I also got an email from a company indicating that they are willing to promote my blog on their site.  HOLLA!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 17, 2010 11:45 am

    I hope you’re enjoying your day! Looks like it is a busy and HAPPY time for you right now with everything that is going on.

    I had a nervous and tensed up massage on Saturday too! I made the mistake of eating cheese right before my appointment.

  2. Katie permalink
    March 17, 2010 12:43 pm

    You deserve many me days!

  3. March 17, 2010 3:22 pm

    I also have to agree on that no eating before a massage bit. I was super gassy and also had to fight the gaseous force that wanted to exit my body!!!

    Have a good first day tomorrow. Hope it goes by fast!

Leave a Reply

