Skip to content

Registering a Domain

March 12, 2010
tags:

I am in love with blogging.  In fact, if I could make money on blogging, I would gladly give up my consulting career for it.  I supposed I could try and make some money with my baby blog but I just don’t think or feel right that I should charge people for advice, especially since I’m not medically trained.  I’ve been on so many sites; I have done so much research and found that every single site that has useful information about baby information has a fee.  So you’ll get tidbits of information but then you have to pay to get the rest or you have to sign up for email updates/newsletters and then your email is bombarded with spam that you willingly signed up for.  And the emails that you get aren’t useful either – it’ll have basic information such as “your baby needs to sleep X hours in a night and for only $19.99, you can find out how!”.  All other blogs authored by mothers or parents are about their life as a mom/parent, funny things that happened, gripes about their kids etc etc but no real useful information.  I can’t go onto those sites and search for “how to get my baby to sleep” or “why is my baby not napping” because the search results will display funny stories about a baby who didn’t nap or an entry about a mther who was mad that her baby was a nightmare after skipping a nap.  Even some of the more popular parenting sites don’t have much information and are more along the lines of discussion boards that regular readers comment on a particular topic of the day.

I’m not saying my baby blog rules and everyone else’s suck but as a mother who once used the internet to find The Answers, I never really came across anything useful unless it was a specific forum where I had to post and wait for answers or pay for information.

For the past few days, I’ve been tossing the idea around of purchasing and registering a domain so I can have a dedicated site for my baby blog.  I know that wordpress allows me to do this for free and gmail can give me an email address but for some reason, I want to OWN the domain.  What if another person buys it?

According to my (light) research thus far, the process of purchasing and buying a domain seems pretty simple – select a reputable registrar, search to see if your desired domain is available and buy it.  Then you have to decide where to host your site – apparently wordpress can do this for you and all it takes is some kind of fee to transfer your domain over to WP.  I don’t have the hardware (or the time) to maintain a website so I’d rather port my domain over to a hosting company and let them deal with the technical issues.  Ugh, then there’s the technical support fees etc etc but I’ve come across some companies where registration and hosting come as a package.

So I’m not sure what I should do.  Do I go with a .com extension or a .ca?  .ca is cheaper but .com is assumed by the general public if I say “oh, visit me at my site:  “DreamyBabies“.

If you have any suggestions or opinions, please let me know.

Happy Friday everyone.  Today’s weather sucks but I shouldn’t complain considering we’ve had nice weather for the past few days.  Looking forward to seeing the girls tonight at Joey’s!  STEAK DINNER HERE I COME

2 Comments leave one →
  1. karm permalink
    March 13, 2010 12:54 am

    “… or you have to sign up for email updates/newsletters and then your email is bombarded with spam that you willingly signed up for.”

    or perhaps someone else signed you up for said spam. lainey gossip. nuff said.

    • March 13, 2010 2:07 pm

      LMAO!!! that was hilarious dude. i am a genius 😉

Leave a Reply

