Skip to content

Product Review: Laura Mercier & My First Free Giveaway!

March 9, 2010

***UPDATE***

oooo folks, you’re gonna looooove this!  I just remembered that my mom – who is also into high-end skin products – always gets samples and bonues from Lancome, Shiseido, Guerlain etc and it’s stuff that we never use (mascara, makeup bags (that are quite nice, I might add!), eyeshadow (and not those horrendous colors), lipsticks (nice, warm colors) etc so this makes my monthly giveaways THAT much better!

********

I am excited to introduce my first free giveaway.  I have a lot of samples from Holt Renfrew that are just piling up so what better way than to share the love of skin care products?  I unloaded a lot of them during Christmas to my friends (each got a little gift-wrapped box with products specific to their skin type) and I still have some extra so I decided to share the love to my internet friends/friends who read my blog.  I am also debating on doing a monthly give-away of other stuff that’s just lying around my house and I suppose I could have a garage sale and get money for it but garage sales take a lot of time and effort to plan which I don’t have time for.  When I mean “I don’t have time “, I mean I’m too lazy to do it.

So here’s my first give-away to one lucky commentor on my blog:

Note: this won't be the exact give-away - it depends what I have in my sample supply for your skin type

Per the note in the picture, what you see won’t be the exact give-away – I just threw the first things I grabbed out of my bag and put them in this picture.  The lucky-commentor’s give-away will receive products specific to their skin type.  If you are interested in receiving free stuff (and seriously, who isn’t interested in getting free swag?!), simply leave a comment with your name, skin type and your skin concerns.  Oh, there’s one other stipulation:  I am shamelessly asking for a plug on your blog and to also tweet this if you have a Twitter account.  Yes, I am that shameless that I am putting a stipuation on my give-away.  Don’t judge – you’re getting high quality FREE STUFF for a plug that will only take you minutes to do.  Besides, it’ll give you something to look forward to when checking your mail because it’s always nice to get things in the mail other than bills.  I guess I should extend this give-away that would entice male readers so perhaps I’ll have to steal from DH’s ‘drawer of many things’ and see what he has lying around.  If you’re a male reader who wants some free stuff, please leave me some suggestions as to what guys like as swag.  And please don’t say stuff like “video games” or “condoms” (although I have those) or “iPod” or other ridiculous things that are more along the lines of gifts than free swag.  Oh and in case you’re wondering – none of the stuff I’m giving away has ever been used – it’s brand new.  Give me some credit, man!  I will choose the lucky winner by printing off a list of those who commented and ask my 20mos daughter to point to one – that’s as unbiased and random as I can get.

OK now onto the fun stuff:  the Product Review:  Laura Mercier Cosmetics.

Laura Mercier Foundation Primer (hydrating) & Tinted Moisturizer

I went to Holt Renfrew with every intention of getting two specific products and then browsing for fun stuff getting the hell outta there.  I try and spend as little time in HR as possible because everything in there is just too tempting for me.  I have been thinking about getting a tinted moisturizer because I’m tired of looking like part of the walking dead and passed by the Laura Mercier counter.  Normally, I buy the Bobbi Brown tinted moisturizer but I wanted something a little less thick and a little more sheer.  I’ve bought LM products before and they’re great so I figured her tinted moisturizers would be just a good.

Usually when I look for products at HR, I always do my research first because those makeup consultants sure know how to push my buttons and by buttons, I mean suckering me in to buying everything they present.  But that day I went to HR, I passed by the LM counter on a whim – a very dangerous thing to do – and wasn’t sure which one I was looking for so naturally, the sales person smelled blood and closed in on me like a bleeding fish in a giant shark tank.  I sat in that chair for 40mins while she dabbed and brushed; puffed and applied.  When she gave me the mirror, I looked like a different person.  I had forgotton what I looked like with makeup on but beacause I haven’t really had the need to get dolled up, I just got used to looking like a corpse every day.

Hydrating Foundation Primer

I have never used a primer (except on walls) but I’ve read a lot about them.  I haven’t used foundation in years which is why I never bothered to even look at any type of makeup primer before.  This primer however, is amazing.  It doesn’t contain any silicone (I guess other primers do) and not only does it fill in any fine lines you may have on your face but it evens out your skin and creates a soft, supple canvas on which you can apply your makeup.  You don’t have to use foundation to use this either – this primer will help any makeup you apply stay fresh and stay put all day.  You know how sometimes you apply makeup and in the middle of the day, it looks like your makeup has somehow separated from your skin and it looks like you’re wearing a mask?  Well, this primer prevents that from happening.  Apply with a sponge wedge and stipple onto skin, then wait a few minutes and apply your makeup.  Finish with a soft dusting of loose translucent powder.

Tinted Moisturizer

This is so pretty.  I LOVED the sheer composition and how it sat on my skin.  It was such a natural look and it really injected some color into my usual casper-like sallow skin.  I looked so healthy and glowing as if I just came from the beach instead of the cemetary.   It didn’t have any light-reflecting anything so it won’t give you a greasy look.  It won’t make you too dark either – it’s just the right shade for that sun-kissed warmth.  Apply with a sponge wedge and stipple onto skin.  Set with a light dusting of loose translucent powder.  If you plan on using other makeup such as concealer or blush, stipple onto skin  using a wedge or brush and gently blend with finger tips.

20 Comments leave one →
  1. March 9, 2010 2:39 pm

    I’m so happy that you discovered makeup primer! Doesn’t it make your face feel so perfectly smooth? Anything you put on top of that goes on so easily too.

    • March 9, 2010 2:59 pm

      what’s your skin type/skin concerns? follow the rules woman! 😀

  2. March 9, 2010 3:23 pm

    LOL. I want to follow the rules, but I won’t have time to officially enter the giveaway until tonight when I am able to post a shout-out on my blog!! But, since you asked, I have combination skin and my main concern is the oiliness around the T-zone area. Congrats on your first giveaway! It’s a FUN one.

  3. March 9, 2010 6:58 pm

    My name is Leesh. My skin type in normal to dry. My skin concerns are I need to moisturize my face and prevent aging. I am a sucker for eye cream.

    Did I follow the rules? I will post your giveaway on my blog and tweet it. Now I hope I win…

    • March 10, 2010 1:24 pm

      haha! you’re lucky leesh bc you get another chance at more freebies! i’m in the process of putting your pkg together (everyone: this is pre-giveaway idea)

  4. Anne-Marie T permalink
    March 9, 2010 10:47 pm

    My skin type is normal. At 54 years “young” my main skin concerns are the ever increasing signs of aging- wrinkles, loss of firmness…. and the list goes on.

    I tweeted about your giveaway: http://twitter.com/amt946/status/10254294554

    Anne-Marie

  5. March 10, 2010 7:54 am

    I’m D-R-Y!!! That’s my biggest skin concern. I LURVE giveaways!

    • March 10, 2010 1:25 pm

      i have dry skin too i hate it. does yours flare up when the seasons change?

      • March 11, 2010 9:59 am

        it doesn’t flare up too badly. just gets flaky in some areas.

        btw, I don’t have a twitter account….

      • March 11, 2010 11:25 am

        hop on the twitter bandwagon… it’s fun 🙂

  6. karm permalink
    March 10, 2010 11:13 am

    My name is karm. My skin type is hairy. My skin concerns are that i cannot see my skin beneath all of my hair.

    send me some lotions and potions to make me pretty.

    can i make you a deal? some sesame street stickers for some cream?

    • March 10, 2010 1:26 pm

      LMAO karm!! you actually came to this site. you funny hunny. when are you back in town?

      • karm permalink
        March 10, 2010 3:42 pm

        easter weekend.

        am i entered into the contest or what?!?!

      • March 10, 2010 5:18 pm

        Yes but give the stuff to neena. what’s her skin type and does she use any of this stuff? if not i’m not going to send it to you because i know you won’t use it. instead, send me some presents

  7. Katie permalink
    March 10, 2010 11:38 pm

    I know your the baby sleep whisperer but now the make up whisperer!!! Lets see…I have sensitive skin, dry between the brows and I am concerned with eye bags and pores…Kayla…you will get a organic cookie if you pick Miss Katies!!! LOL

  8. Georgeanna permalink
    March 11, 2010 8:33 am

    Hey Kat: It’s George…I will leave a comment,…love FREE Stuff…
    especially skincare stuff!
    I’m in my (AHEM) 30’s…and I have found my skin has changed so much!
    It’s drier now..and I see lines…but I also don’t like stuff that is goopy and heavy cuz then it tends to turn shiny and oily! I HATE HATE HATE the bags under my eyes! can’t get rid of them! I see the lines on my face and I see my pores too! ACK! the list goes on! you name it I’ve got a concern!

    • March 11, 2010 9:13 am

      hey girl glad you’re interested in this giveaway! Kayla will be picking the winner next week so stay tuned 🙂

  9. karm permalink
    March 11, 2010 8:38 am

    the technical name for neena’s skin type is “without flaw”.

    she doesn’t use these particular products on her skin but she does use unicorn tears on her skin before bed everynight. To ensure a sufficient supply of unicorn tears, I have one tied up in our apartment and i have to torture it until it cries enough tears for neena’s skincare. I think the continuous torture has left my unicorn in poor health and it’s perhaps time to switch to more readily available skin care products.

    • March 11, 2010 9:14 am

      “without flaw”, huh? well, then she should be bottling and selling her secrets because every woman on the planet would like to have “without flaw” skin type. that would make you rich. actually, that would make her rich and you her cab driver.

      • karm permalink
        March 11, 2010 10:26 am

        i told you her secret – unicorn tears. good luck rounding up enough unicorns to bottle their tears and sell them. we had a hell of a time getting our hands on one unicorn, let alone a whole herd.

Leave a Reply

